About > Tui Ora Board

Tui Ora Board

Our board of directors has extensive business, clinical and governance experience in health and in other sectors. They are pictured, from left: Robin Brockie, Liana Poutu, Shelley Kopu, Hayden Wano, Te Urumairangi (Pam) Ritai, Diane Jones, Wayne Mulligan (chairman). Missing, Debbie Packer.

Wayne Tamerangi (Thomas) Mulligan - Chairman

Wayne is a business professional with over 25 years experience in managing people, building and investing in businesses, fostering relationships, lobbying and building teams to achieve objectives. He has worked in the health sector at senior management level, and was involved in policy development for the Mental Health Commission in the late 1990s.

Wayne has built four commercial businesses including two science commercialisation entities, a pharmaceutical IP company and an investment group Iwi Investor. It is the first Māori investment group with approval to offer a KiwiSaver scheme as well as funds management and risk insurances.

He is affilitated to Ngā Māhanga ā Tairi - Taranaki Tuturu; Te Atiawa and Ngāti Maniapoto.

Debbie Packer - Deputy Chairman

Debbie is a South Taranaki based company director and business consultant. She also has experience in the private and public sector.

She is a former Deputy Mayor of the South Taranaki District Council. She is a current member of the Minister of Māori Affairs and the Minister for Economic Development's Independent Māori Economic Development Panel. Debbie is affilitated to Ngāti Ruanui and Ngā Rauru.

Dr Diane Jones – Director

Diane is a general practitioner in Inglewood and also acts as the Branch Medical Advisor for ACC New Plymouth. She is a Trustee of the Midlands Regional Health Network Trust.

Liana Poutu - Director

Liana is a trustee of several organisations including Te Reo o Taranaki Trust and Tūhono Trust, and is currently the Pouwhakahaere/General Manager for the Taranaki Iwi Trust.

Liana was seconded to Taranaki Iwi from the law firm Kāhui Legal where she had worked as a senior solicitor since January 2008. Prior to joining Kāhui Legal, Liana worked for several years with law firm Russell McVeagh in its Māori legal, litigation and public law teams. Liana is affilitated with Taranaki and Te Atiawa.

Robin Brockie - Director

Robin is a recently retired partner of the chartered accounting practice of Staples Rodway Taranaki Limited where he had been a partner for 31 years. During that time Robin provided a variety of services to the business community as well as the wider Taranaki community.

Robin's community interests have spanned a variety of community based organisations including education, health and welfare, and visual and performing arts.

Robin currently holds a number of governance roles inside and outside Taranaki and is a member of the Institute of Directors to complement his membership of the Chartered Accountants Institute of Australia and New Zealand.

Throughout his professional career, Robin has had the opportunity of working with a variety of Māori organisations ranging from whanau trusts through to iwi incorporations including those providing health services to the community. It was this experience that attracted Robin to the opportunity of joining the Board of Tui Ora. This year Robin was awarded a Queen’s Service Medal for his services to the community.

Te Urumairangi (Pam) Ritai - Director

Te Urumairangi (Pam) Ritai comes to the board with many years experience, including 50 years as a registered nurse and for the past 20 years in clinical manager and leadership roles for Manaaki Oranga Ltd and Tui Ora.

Recently retired, Te Urumairangi has continued to be an active participant on health and iwi Governance Boards and is committed and dedicated to Māori health kaupapa to improve the health and social wellbeing of Māori and high needs communities.

Shelley Kopu - Director

Shelley Kopu is the Employment Relations Manager and Legal Counsel at ASB Bank in Auckland.  In a career that has spanned more than 20 years she has held senior management positions in large private companies, law and accountancy firms. She is a trustee of the Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust, a member of the Institute of Directors and in November 2016 became a Tui Ora director.

Shelley grew up in Hamilton and Wellington but has whakapapa links to Taranaki and Poneke. Her father is Te Atiawa and from Waitara, and her mother who is Pākehā is from Hāwera. Though she wasn’t raised in Taranaki, Shelley feels a strong affiliation to the region and loves to spend time here.

Hayden Wano – Chief Executive Officer

Hayden has over 30 years experience in the health sector in the areas of mental health, community and medical services. In addition he has more than 20 years experience in senior health management including the position of Director of Clinical Services with Taranaki Healthcare Limited. He was chairman of the Taranaki District Health Board (TDHB) from 2000 to 2007.

Since 1998 Hayden has held the position of CEO with Tui Ora. He is a member of the National Health Board. He holds a number of other governance positions including chairman of the TSB Community Trust. He is a fellow of the Australasian College of Health Service Management. Hayden is of Te Atiawa, Taranaki and Ngāti Awa Iwi descent.